Be an Outsider.

Dictionary.com defines an outsider as: a person not belonging to a particular group, set, party, etc. But what does that mean in terms of today’s society? For the average teen or young adult? Most people would automatically think of that kid who sits at lunch alone. The kid who gets bullied on the school bus. Or the one who is barely noticed and often is seen alone. As all of these things may be true for an ‘outsider’ to be, what if there is a deeper meaning to it. What if it has a spiritual link to it.

If you are a christian, or even if you are not, you have probably heard about the incredibly famous Christian rapper, Lecrae. Lecrae is not only known and loved by believers, but non-believers as well. You may be familiar with His song “Outsiders”. This is a song dedicated to what it means to be an Outsider.

The incorrect assumption many people make, is that, if they go to church, or even if they’re saved, it’s all good. Nothing else needs to happen. After all, i’m going to heaven. So I can do whatever I want now, right?

No. Being a Christian is SO much more than reading John 3:16, saying a prayer for that Bio test you think you failed, going to church, or even to heaven. Yes, once you accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, and you put that into your heart for the rest of your life, you are going to heaven. Romans 10: 9-10 tells us:
” That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord”, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. ”

Yes, then you are saved. But that’s not it.
“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth. ” (Acts 1:8)
When we are truly saved, there is no denying the truth that the Holy Spirit convicts us. He shows us when we do wrong and when we mess up. He also shows us the right path to take and what He truly wants for us. Being a Christian is something we can’t take lightly.

You see, all Christians are called to be something. We are called to do different things that each glorify our Father. But there is at least one thing that we are ALL called to be. An Outsider.

Indeed, this is an intimidating term. Yes, it can get very scary and risky. But that’s where you decide if it’s worth it. If Jesus is worth it. Is He, the Messiah, worthy of your time? Is being a true Christian worth giving up your time, money, friends, future, and even reputation? Is your savior really worth it?

For me, that’s a heck yes. I don’t know about you, but I feel like God has done too much for me, for all of us, to not even acknowledge Him or what we know He’s done for us. And you know, I don’t really mind if the people that i’m with in high school, don’t like me or want to be around me because of He who represents me. He who is my life. My rock. My stronghold. Jesus is more than the God I worship. He is the love of my life.

Who cares if the people I won’t even see three years from now, reject me. If this happens, I know I won’t be alone. I still have God. And I will be rewarded in Eternity. I believe that it is unfair to call yourself a Christian on your Instagram profile, or even in a class discussion one day, and act like the rest of the world. This is the reason so many people call us hypocrites. And they’re right.

So, are you ready to be an Outsider? Is it worth it to you? To lose everything? Are you okay with being outside of the norm, refusing to give in to peer pressure, leaving the so-called ‘friends’ that always bring you down?  Will you be the one to sit with the outcast at lunch? Will you worship God in front of everyone? Will you stand up when they whole world sits down?

Will you be an outsider?

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power God uses to save everyone who believes to save the Jews first, and then the non-Jews. ”
(Romans 1:16)

Leave a Reply

